The Foundation of SAARC Writers and Literature invited eminent fiction writers, litterateurs, intellectuals and academicians from South Asia to Aligarh Muslim University for the Twelfth SAARC Fiction Writers Conference

The Twelfth SAARC Writers’ Conference, organised by the Foundation of SAARC Writers and Literature—a SAARC Recognized Body, was held in collaboration with Aligarh Muslim University, from 21st to 24th March, 2005.

Inaugurating the three-day International Conference on “Contemporary Fiction in SAARC Nations”, the Vice-Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University,Mr. Naseem Ahmad said that the writers not only express their fantasy but indeed give voice to our aspirations and anxiety and expose the ills and flaws in our society.

Prof. U.R. Ananthamurthy, India, Mr. tulasi Diwasa, Nepal, Mr. Ali Shareef, Maldives

H.E. Mr. Naseem Ahmad, Vice Chancellor, Aligarh Muslim University inaugurating the Twelfth SAARC Fiction Writers Conference with Mr. Wasi Ahmed, Bangladesh, Mr. Intezar Hussain, Pakistan, Mr. Tissa Abeysekara, Sri Lanka

The emient gathering of writers, academicians and students of Aligarh Muslim University

Ms. Ajeet Cour urged the writers to give voice to the voiceless millions who want peace, friendship and harmony because writers negate all intentions of war within their very act of creation. They create because they want to make the world a better place to live in.
All the major countries of the region were represented as participants had been invited from different States of India and all the countries of South Asia.

Discussions and readings were based on the following themes :

• Contemporary trends in the literature of South Asia.
• Issues of gender development and discrimination in South Asia.
• Challenges in building inclusive and culturally diverse societies.
• Freedoms, human rights and the role of Diversity.

Eminent participants from South Asia included : Mr. Intizar Hussain, Mr. Asad Mohammed Khan, Mr. Akhter Rasheed Amjad, Mr. Munnoo Bhai Dr. Asif Farroukhi, Mr. Ikramullah, Kishwar Naheed, Mr. Sadiq Parvez, Dr. Syed Akhtar Hussain Akhtar, Mr. Mohammed Ashiq Raheel and Dr. Mirza Hamid Baig from Pakistan, Dr. Indira Goswami from Guwahati, Prof. Refaqat Ali Khan, Mr. Zubair Razvi, Dr. Shamim Hanfi, Ms. Krishna Sobti from Delhi, Dr. Pem Namgyal from Bhutan, Ms. Geeta Keshary from Nepal, Ms. Shaheen Akhtar and Mr. Wasi Ahmed from Bangladesh, and Mr. Tissa Abheysekara from Sri Lanka.

The Conference was well attended by students and faculty members of Aligarh Muslim University, who actively participated in the discussions and deliberations.